SAMA25 Record Of The Year race hots up as Top 10 is revealed

It’s anyone’s game in the epic duel for the prestigious SAMA25 Record of the Year. The top 10 finalists were unveiled on SABC1’s Live Amp this evening and the best of the best rose to the top of the pile.

These are the songs that became anthems and that shows in how the public voted for them.

Among the finalists is Fela in Versace by AKA featuring Kiddominant. Abangani by Sjava featuring Emtee and Saudi.

Kwesta being the only artist on the list whose voice is in two nominated songs, his own hit Vur Vai and Macala by Mlindo The Vocalist where he features with Thabsie and Sfeesoh.

Sonini secured Sun-El Musician a spot. It features Simmy and Lelo Kamau.

Deeper by Holly Rey also got the nod as did Asphelelanga by Vusi Nova featuring Jessica Mbangeni.

DJ Ganyani featuring Nomcebo on Emazulwini did enough to make the cut.

Pakisha by Dladla Mshunqisi featuring Distruction Boyz and DJ Tira fly the Durban gqom flag high.

Shay’inumber by Malumz on Decks & Gino Brown featuring Mr Vince completes the top 10.

Congratulating the finalists RiSA CEO Nhlanhla Sibisi enthused: “Well done to all the musicians for reaching the last stage of a category that is determined and driven by the public. When we talk about music that reflected the pulse of a nation in dance it’s these top 10 tracks. Best wishes to all as we head to the finale next weekend in Sun City.” 

Mme Ontlametse Mochware, MEC for Culture, Arts and Traditional Affairs in the North West – the main sponsor of SAMA25 – has congratulated the nominees.

“The list announced today is a clear reflection of the high standard of SAMA25. I am thrilled because this shows we are nearing a memorable climax in this year’s event. I urge all of Africa to embrace this South African prestigious award on this Africa month. It’s going to be fireworks.”

To vote for your favourite nominee for ROTY go to or download the My Muze app from the Google Play store. Alternatively, SMS the number of your favourite artist to 45887 or dial *120*45887# at a cost of R1.50 

See list below for voting number.

Keyword Record Of The Year Top 10 Nominees
04 Holly Rey – Deeper
06 Dj Ganyani feat. Nomcebo – Emazulwini
07 Sun-El Musician feat. Simmy & Lelo Kamau – Sonini
08 AKA feat. Kiddominant – Fela in Versace
09 Malumz On Decks & Gino Brown feat. Mr.Vince– Shay’inumber
10 Dladla Mshunqisi feat Distruction Boyz & DJ Tira – Pakisha
11 Sjava feat. Emtee & Saudi – Abangani
14 Kwesta – Vur Vai
15 Mlindo the Vocalist feat. Kwesta, Thabsie and Sfeesoh– Macala
19 Vusi Nova feat. Jessica Mbangeni- Asphelelanga

The SAMA25 takes place on May 31 and June 1 in Sun City, North West province. It will be broadcast live on June 1 on SABC1 at 8pm. Tickets to the show are available at Ticket Pro for R415.

  • The annual South African Music Awards (SAMAs) are organised by the Recording Industry of South Africa (RiSA) in partnership with the North West Department of Culture, Arts and Traditional Affairs.
  • SABC is the official broadcast partner of SAMA25.
  • SAMA25 is supported by MY MUZE, Department of Arts and Culture, CAPASSO, SAMPRA and SAMRO

Social Media Handles:

Instagram: @thesamas

Twitter: @TheSAMAs

Facebook: South African Music Awards

Hashtag: #SAMA25


YouTube: samusicawards

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →