NSRI AGM and Awards – 2019

NSRI’s 52nd Annual General Meeting and Awards evening was held in Durban on Friday 31st May 2019 at uShaka Marine World, Durban. 

Congratulations Deon Truter on receiving his 30 year service award with the NSRI!

Sea Rescue honoured contributions under the following categories: bravery, special service, station awards and long service awards from 20 to 45 years. 

Thank you to Deon Govender,  DJ on East Coast Radio who was our MC for the evening.


Water Safety Recognition Award:  Luc Lepront for his quick thinking, and willingness to help someone he did not know who was in grave danger of drowning.

Directors’ Thanks Award to: Sage Khowa, Jon Caple, Everett Duarte and Marc Franz, for their bravery and determination when in the early evening of 18 February 2019, they went to the aid of three people caught in a rip current at Marina beach on the KZN South Coast. Using a Pink Rescue Buoy and a surfboard as emergency floatation, two international golfers were rescued and one of the rescuers was assisted from the water.


The Most Improved Station of the year 2018 is awarded to: Station 35 Witbank Dam

(Travis Clack – Station Commander to receive award)

The Best RIB Station of the year 2018 awarded to: Station 37 Jeffreys Bay

(Rieghard Janse Van Rensburg – Station Commander to receive award)

The Pat O Sullivan Trophy, for the best Class 1 Station 2018 awarded to: Station 17 Hermanus

(Deon Langenhoven – Station Commander to receive award)


MARMION MARSH TROPHY 2018 awarded to: Clifford Ireland for his individual noteworthy service to the cause of Sea Rescue in South Africa and his tremendous contribution towards the ORC 140 Project.

Clifford Ireland to receive award

ALRIC SIMPSON TROPHY 2018 awarded to: Reef Wetsuits South Africa for their remarkable contribution towards Sea Rescue in South Africa over 14 years.

Barry Stringer to receive award

Directors’ Thanks Award to: Kantey & Templer Consulting Engineers who have through their generous sponsorship and excellent professional services, provided NSRI and Station 5 Durban with free engineering design services since 2004.

James Stalberg to receive award on behalf of Andrew Smith


20 Years

Aidan Wood – Station 11 Port Alfred

Brynn Gericke – Station 19 Richards Bay

Ian Reid – Station 7 East London

Lyall Pringle – Station 8 Hout Bay

Otto Rodenberg – Station 15 Mossel Bay

Sven Gussenhoven – Station 8 Hout Bay

25 Years

Brian Brink – Station 14 Plettenberg Bay, he also receives an Honorary Life Membership Award

30 Years

Chris Van Staden – Station 12 Knysna

Deon Truter – Station 14 Plettenberg Bay

Kathy Manten – Station 22 Vaal Dam

Dr Cleeve Robertson – Station 1 Head Office and standby doctor, he also receives an Honorary Life Membership Award

35 Years

Bruce Bodmer – Station 8 Hout Bay

Bruce Davidson – Station 2 Bakoven

David Robins – Station 3 Table Bay, then Director

Dick Manten – Station 22 Vaal Dam

Dorian Robertson – Station 19 Richards Bay

Geoff McGregor – Station 7 East London

George Parkes – Station 12 Knysna

 40 Years

David Roberts – Station 10 Simon’s Town, then Regional Director and Honorary Life Governor

Rudi Fisch – Station 3 Table Bay

45 Years

Ian Wienburg – Station 3 Table Bay, then CEO and Honorary Life Governor

Marty Reddering – Station 14 Plettenberg Bay

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →