George retains SWD T20 title

George Cricket Club, on Saturday at the Recreation Ground in Oudtshoorn, retained their title as SWD Twenty20 champions with a comprehensive 111 runs victory against Harlequins in the final.

Johandré Barnard, the captain of George Cricket Club, with the SWD Cricket Twenty20 Champions trophy together with Shael Laminie (Vice-President SWD Cricket on the left) and Rudy Claassen (President SWD Cricket)

Earlier Harlequins advanced to the final after a nail-biting 1 run victory against Union Stars in the first semi-final. Harlequins, who recovered from 8/3 thanks to vital contributions with the bat by Ndumiso Mvelase (73; 42 balls, 3×6, 8×4) and Julian Jacobs (32*) reached 143/6 after their allotted 20 overs. In their run chase Leroi Bredenkamp (43) and Pieter Stuurman (28) hold the Union Stars innings together but the result was determined with the last ball of their innings when they ended on 142 (all out) – a defeat by 1 run. Franklin Stuurman bagged 3/27 and Rhupino Plaatjies 3/30.

Rhupino Plaatjies, the captain of Harlequins Forces Cricket Club, receives the SWD Cricket Twenty20 Runner’s-Up trophy from Mr Shael Laminie (Vice-President SWD Cricket on the left)

George booked their place in the final after the NMU Madibaz, the other semi-finalist, was suspended from the SWD league structures for the rest of the 2019/20 season. The NMU Madibaz club, who forfeited all three their three scheduled reserve league fixtures so far this season, was suspended (in terms of clause 15 (b) of the SWDC Administrative rulings from all competitions for the duration of the season.

In the final George, thanks to a dominating batting performance by Neil Hornbuckle (94; 56 balls, 1×6, 12×4) and Johandre Barnard (50; 33 balls, 2×6, 5×4), posted a competitive 203/2 and thereafter dismissed Harlequins for 92 to record a comprehensive 111 runs victory. Ayabonga Anthony (2/6), Jaco Janse van Rensburg (2/10), Sydwell Williams (2/12) and Wessel Hartslief (2/16) all bagged two wickets each.

George will now represent SWD in this weekend’s Western Cape qualifying round matches against Cape Town CC (Western Province) and Robertson CC (Boland). The matches will be played at the Callie de Wet Cricket Ground in Robertson.

The summarised score cards are:

Union Stars vs Harlequins Forces
HARLEQUINS FORCES 143/6 (20 overs) (Ndumiso Mvelase 73, Julian Jacobs 32*, Renaldo Meyer 2/22) UNION STARS (142 all out) (Leroi Bredenkamp 43,
Pieter Stuurman 28, Yamkela Oliphant 21, Franklin Stuurman 3/27,
Rhupino Plaatjies 3/30) Harlequins Forces won by 1 run


George vs Harlequins Forces
GEORGE 203/2 (20 overs) (Neil Hornbuckle 94, Johandre Barnard 50,
Jaco Janse van Rensburg 25, Franklin Stuurman 2/41)
HARLEQUINS FORCES (92 all out) (Lesley Maksella 23, Julian Jacobs 21, Ayabonga Anthony 2/6, Jaco Janse van Rensburg 2/10, Sydwell Williams 2/12, Wessel Hartslief 2/16) George won by 111 runs

Caption: George Cricket Club who successfully defended their crown as SWD Twenty/20 champions with a comprehensive 111 runs victory against Harlequins on Saturday are:
Back Row: Neil Hornbuckle, Wessel Hartslief, Kevin Gibson, Ayabonga Anthony, Bailey Aarons, Arie van Dolderen (Club Chairman), Sydwell Williams, Richardt Frenz and Mark Burmeister (Coach)
Front Row: Shaun Wagner, Jaco Janse van Rensburg, Johandré Barnard (Captain), Franco Geldenhuys, Jaco Fourie and Gary Wagner

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →