Six-in-a-row for Union Stars women

The Union Stars women’s team clinched the SWD Women’s league title for the sixth consecutive time on Saturday when they defeated Harlequins by 43 runs in the final.

The defending champions posted 170 all out and thereafter dismissed Harlequins for 127 runs.  Jenilee Manual (5/26) was the bowling hero for Union Stars. 

In the B-division final George (109 all out) clinched the competition with a 62 runs victory against Pioneers (47 all out).  Marianna Breedt (4/12) – that included a hat-trick excelled for the champions.

The summarised score cards are:

Union Stars Women vs Harlequins Forces Women

UNION STARS WOMEN (170 all out) (Haroline Rhodes 31, Jane Winster 22, Micaela Andrews 27, Julandi Saayman 2/3, Wendy Eckersley 2/24, Marion Williams 2/29, Bianca Mars 2/41, Marnezelle Rabie 2/42)

HARLEQUINS FORCES WOMEN (127 all out) Bianca Mars 28, Jenilee Manuel 5/36, Jane Winster 2/12)

Union Stars Women won by 43 runs

George Women vs Pioneers Women

GEORGE WOMEN (109 all out) (Nicole Swart 24, Vuyolwethu Bonya 3/10, Jeneva van Wyk 2/11, Shirna Cunningham 2/30)

PIONEERS WOMEN (47 all out) (Nicole Swart 4/4, Mariana Breedt 4/12)

George Women won by 62 runs

Mariana Breedt took a hattrick 

Caption: Back row: Haroline Rhodes (captain); Elize Arendse; Cecilia Strydom; Minoreen Bredekamp; Francisca Bantom; Jeneviwe Jantjies; Aisha Arendse and Jane Winster
Front row: Jenilee Manuel; Miehantay Moos; Micaela Andrews; Howledene Goliath and Kelsey Stuurman

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →