Sussex win Promotion League final

Sussex Cricket Club, on Saturday, recorded an impressive 96 runs victory against Riversdale to win the Promotion league final and will next year be back in the Premier League competition.

Rowan Groenewald, the captain of Sussex, receives the trophy as winners of the SWDC Promotion League from Mr Rudy Claassen – President of SWD Cricket

Sussex, who batted first, were with their backs against the wall at 90/6 but they managed to bat their allotted 50 overs and ended on a competitive 164/9.  Riversdale, who played in their second consecutive final, struggled against the bowling of Rowan Groenewald (4/17), Wayne de Jager (3/17) and Matthew Balindlela (2/6) and was dismissed for only 68.

Byron Esau, the captain of Riversdale, receives the trophy as runners-up of the SWDC Promotion League from Mr Rudy Claassen – President of SWD Cricket

It was Sussex’s third trophy after the club won the premier league in 1999/2000 and the Twenty/20 competition in 2012/13.  The club was relegated to the promotion league after the 2016/17 season.

The summarised scorecard is:

Sussex vs Riversdale

SUSSEX (164/9 in 50 overs) (John Cooper 45, Emile Ezau 19, Dristan Arends 18, Marvin Kortje 3/17, Byron Esau 3/33, Jason van Rensburg 2/33)

RIVERSDALE (68 all out) (Donavin Pietersen 17, Rowan Groenewald 4/17, Wayne de Jager 3/17, Matthew Balindlela 2/6)

Sussex won by 96 runs

Caption: The victorious team of Sussex Cricket Club that won the SWD Promotion League (Division 1) on Saturday after a 96 runs victory against Riversdale in the final.

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →