Tsepo Ndwandwa is SWD Cricket’s Player of the Season

SWD spin bowler, Tsepo Ndwandwa, won the prestigious SWD Player of the Season Award at their Annual Awards that were presented via virtual media on Friday. 

Miceala Andrews

The Covid-19 lockdown regulations have prevented SWD Cricket from hosting its annual awards function at the conclusion of the 2019/20 season and streamed its awards via various media platforms.

Tyrese Karelse of South Africa bats during the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup Group D match between South Africa and UAE at Mangaung Oval on January 25, 2020 in Bloemfontein, South Africa. (Photo by Jan Kruger-ICC/ICC via Getty Images)

In the CSA Provincial Three-Day Competition, Ndwandwa bagged the fifth most wickets – 33 (just 6 wickets fewer than the top wicket-taker, Basheer Walters) at an average of 24.84 with two five-wicket hauls.  He also represented a SA Emerging XI and the WSB Cape Cobras.

Envirino Swartz

Miceala Andrews, who finished 6th on the CSA Limited over competition batting averages with 187 runs at an average of 46.75 with a highest score of 117 and a strike rate of 114, received the Award as Women’s player of the season. She was also selected for CSA T20 Superseries and CSA National Powerade Academy.

Franco Geldenhuys

Franco Geldenhuys (George CC), who was a member of George CC who won the premier league, was the Premier League player of the season. Marco Hannies (Blanco CC), who was the top wicket-taker in the league won the award for the Promotion League player of the season. The top wicket-taker in the Reserve League, Mobeen Elyas (George CC), won the award as Reserve League Player of the Season and Miceala Andrews – who scored the most runs in the Women’s League (243 runs at an average of 49) and who was one of three bowlers to bag the most wickets – received the Award as Women’s Player of the Season.  Nicole Swart (George CC) was the Player of the Season in the Women’s T20 Promotion league whilst Envirino Swartz (Union Stars CC) was the T20 Player of the Season for his bowling performances.

Bradley Manewill (Intellectually Impaired Player of the Season), Beviano Swigelaar (LSEN Player of the Season), Tyrece Karelse (High Schools Player of the Season), Luvo Ntantiso (SWD Scorer of the Season), André Olivier (SWD Umpire of the Season), Keith Cretchley (from Knysna Cavaliers CC – the Club Groundsman of the Season) were the respective category winners. Union Stars received the Fair Play Award, a newly introduced award that is based on an evaluation by umpires that relates to the Respect for Umpires, Respect for the Opposition, and Respect for the Laws.  The SWD u/15 team, who was SWD’s top performer as the representative team received the award as Representative team of the season.  Because the CSA Momentum U/13 tournament and CSA Girls U/19 tournament was rained-out no awards in the category U/13 and Girls’ Player of the Season was made.

Special Merit Awards were awarded to Heath Richards and Jhedli van Briesies (selected for Cape Cobras Cubs team) and Jason Maswanganyi (Appointed as coach for the Cobras Franchise Cubs team),  Miceala Andrews, Annerie Dercksen and Jané Winster for their selection to participate in CSA Women T20 Super League), Travis Ackermann and Keenen Vieira (Selected for the Cape Cobras Franchise Colts team), Jason Maswanganyi (Appointed as coach for the Cobras Franchise Colts team), Brendon Louw (Played his 100th First Class match for SWD), Neil Hornbuckle (Played his 50th First Class match for SWD), André Olivier (Appointed as Umpire to officiate in the SA Cubs week, SA Rural Week, SA Cubs week, USSA  week and Varsity Cup),  Miceala Andrews (Selected for 2020 CSA Powerade Women Academy Intake), Tyrece Karelse (Selected for the SA U/19 team for the 2020 ICC U/19 CWC), Tsepo Ndwandwa (Selected to represent the WSB Cape Cobras and selected to represent the SA Invitation XI in a Triangular Domestic tournament in August 2019), Stefan Tait (Selected to represent a South Africa Invitational XI against England in a Two- Day match in Benoni – December 2019 and in two Limited over matches in Paarl in January 2020), Jean du Plessis (Selected to represent a South Africa Invitational XI against England in two Limited over matches in Paarl in January 2020) and Baakier Abrahams (Appointed as assistant coach for a South Africa Invitational XI against England in two Limited over matches in Paarl in January 2020).

Three members who passed away during the past season – Neville du Plessis, an umpire from Dysselsdorp, Elvira Nomdoe, a scorer from Blanco and Carol le Roux, an educator from Delville Park Primary School in George, who was involved in the KFC Mini Cricket program for more than ten years – were honored with a Roll of Honor Award.

The Chief Executive Officer of the company, Albertus Kennedy, who is employed since the opening of a permanent office since October 2004 received the Simon Swigelaar Floating Trophy for his services to SWD Cricket. 

The following staff received services certificates for five (5) years’ service:

  • Ms Genevieve Anthony
  • Ms Bianca Figeland
  • Mr Gleneord Keiser
  • Mr Merlin Masimela
  • Mr Devan Muller
  • Mr Joseph Sonti

Other category winners were:

  • Schools – Most runs in T20 competition: Lleyton Avontuur (Langenhoven Gym)
  • Schools – Most wickets in T20 competition: Lleyton Avontuur (Langenhoven Gym)
  • Schools – Most runs in u/15 Super League: Zander Nel (Outeniqua)
  • Schools – Most wickets in u/15 Super: Lleyton Avontuur (Langenhoven Gym)
  • Schools – Most runs in u/19 Super League: Francois André Beets (Langenhoven Gym)
  • Schools – Most wickets in u/19 Super League: Lleyton Avontuur (Langenhoven Gym)
  • Most Wickets in Women T20 league: Zinkitha Kona (Thembalethu CC)
  • Most Runs in Women T20 league: Nicole Swart (George CC)
  • Most Wickets in Women 50 over league: Jané Winster (Union Stars CC)
  • Most Runs in Women T20: Miceala Andrews (Union Stars)
  • Most Wickets in Reserve League: Mobeen Elyas (George CC)
  • Most Runs in Reserve League: Jacques Coetzee (Mossel Bay CC)
  • Most Wickets in Promotion League: Marco Hannies (George CC)
  • Most Runs in Promotion League: Berthal September (Heidelberg United CC)
  • Most Wickets in T20 League: Envirino Swartz (Union Stars CC)
  • Most Runs in T20 League: Todd Walker (NMU)
  • Most Wickets in Premier League: Jaco Fourie (George CC)
  • Most Runs in Premier League: Pieter Stuurman (Union Stars CC)

The respective league and club winners also received their trophies.  They were:

  • Women’s T20 Promotion League winners: George
  • Women’s League Winners: Union Stars
  • Reserve League Winners: Union Stars ‘C’
  • Promotion League Division 2 Winners: New Dawn Park
  • Promotion League Division 1 Winners: Sussex
  • T20 Knock-Out Competition: George
  • Premier League Winners: George

The presentation can be viewed on the youtube link https://youtu.be/dB88wgQ4HZ0 or on the Facebook page of SWD Cricket.

Tsepo Ndwandwa of South Africa Emerging bowls during the One-Day Triangular Series Cricket match between South Africa Emerging and SA USSA on the 11 July 2019 Groenkloof Oval, Pretoria Pic Sydney Mahlangu/ BackpagePix

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →