SWD unbeaten winners of CSA Inter-Provincial Tournament

The SWD Women’s team emerged unbeaten winners of Pool B of the Cricket South Africa Inter-Provincial Women’s tournament that ended in Oudtshoorn on Monday.

The team of Heroline Rhodes recorded bonus-point victories in all their matches and took Eastern Province to the cleaners with a comprehensive 6 wicket victory in their last match on Monday.  EP, who batted first, posted 138 (49 overs) with Julandi Saayman (3/22), Jané Winster (3/26) and Haroline Rhodes (2/30) were the pick of the bowlers.  SWD (139/4) only needed 34.2 overs to reach the target.  Vuyowethu Bonya (41*), Mochelle May (37) and Haroline Rhodes (33*) all made vital contributions.

In other fixtures SWD defeated Kei by 10 wickets, Free State by 7 wickets and Boland by 3 wickets.  SWD will now advance to a play-off match to determine which team will be promoted to the A-division.

Kei vs SWD

KEI 51 all out (35 overs) (Julandi Saayman 3/5, Haroline Rhodes 3/6, Micaela Andrews 3/7)

SWD 52/0 (11.3 overs) (Julandi Saayman 21*, Mochelle May 24*)

SWD won by 10 wickets.

Free State vs SWD

FREE STATE 79 all out (31.1 overs) (Delmarie Hoffman 25, Christen Van Wyk 26*, Haroline Rhodes 5/14, Jane Winster 2/11, Micaela Andrews 2/25)

SWD 80/3 (16.5 overs) (Mochelle May 19, Micaela Andrews 18*, Bianca Figeland 18*)

SWD won by 7 wickets.

SWD vs Boland

BOLAND 69 all out (40.5 overs) (Chantelle van Schoor 20, Marnazelle Rabie 2/5, Jane Winster 2/12, Micaela Andrews 2/15, Haroline Rhodes 2/18)

SWD 70/7 (27.1 overs) (Bianca Figeland 19, Jané Winster 18, Maudeen Dampies 4/21, Don Lin 2/15)

SWD won by 3 wickets.

SWD vs Eastern Province

EASTERN PROVINCE 138 all out (49 overs) (Jana Nell 50, Mieke de Ridder 23, , Julandi Saayman 3/22, Jane Winster 3/26, Haroline Rhodes 2/30)

SWD 139/4 (34.2 overs) (Vuyowethu Bonya 41*, Mochelle May 37, Haroline Rhodes 33*, Chene Arnolds 2/16)

SWD won by 6 wickets.

Caption: Back Row: Zimkitha Kona, Kaylene Abrahams, Bianca Figeland, Cheyenne De Villiers, San-Mari Strydom, Chani Damons, Vuyolwethu Bonya and Zoe Meyer
Front Row: Julandi Saayman, Marnazelle Rabie, Eduard Strydom (Head Coach), Haroline Rhodes (Captain), Ms Katrisha Strydom (Chairperson SWD Women’s Cricket Association), Jané Winster (Vice-Captain), Merlin Masimela, Mochelle May and Miceala Andrews

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →