Jean du Plessis & Jané Winster scoop to SWD Cricket awards

SWD batting hero, Jean du Plessis, won the prestigious SWD Player of the Season Award at their Annual Awards Ceremony that was held via the YouTube virtual media platform on Friday.  Jané Winster, who excelled for the SWD Women’s team and being selected for the SA Emerging team that toured Bangladesh, where she also excelled with the ball, won the SWD Women’s player of the Season Award.

Jane Winster of the Coronations sends down a delivery during the 2020 WSL 3.0 match between Coronations and Thistles held at Newlands Cricket Ground in Cape Town, South Africa on 16th December 2020 ©Shaun Roy/BackpagePix

Du Plessis was SWD’s top batsmen in the CSA Provincial program in both the three-day and one-day formats that were hosted in Stellenbosch and Paarl.  In the three-day series, he was the wicket-keeper with the most dismissals overall and also represent the Six-Gun Grill Cape Cobras in the Momentum One Day competition.

Miceala Andrews and Winster were awarded the Simon Swigelaar Floating Trophy for being elected for the SA Emerging Women’s team that toured Bangladesh during March and October 2021.  The SWD Women’s team for winning Pool B of the CSA Inter-provincial women’s tournament that was hosted in Oudtshoorn during March 2021 won the Award as Provincial representative team of the season.

Special Merit Awards were awarded to Kamvalethu Feni and Ayabonga Ngondo for their selection for the Cobras Cubs who participated in the CSA Franchise Cubs Week in Stellenbosch, André Olivier and Lusuko Mralasi (both umpires) who officiated in CSA National tournaments, and Glenda Oliphant who was elected to serve on the Executive Committee of SA Schools Cricket.

Several members who were involved in various capacities within the SWD Cricket structures who passed away during the past year were honored with a Roll of Honor Award.  They were:

  • Errol Eugene Hector (10/10/1969 – 15/07/2020),
  • Meche Jacobs (12/02/2004-06/07/2020),
  • John Johannes Jacobus Conradie (24/02/1950 – 01/08/2020),
  • Hendrick John Clarence Hoogbaard (12/03/1977 – 03/08/2000),
  • Stevin John Seconds (16/03/1966 – 08/08/2020),
  • September Ekstraal (08/11/1956 – 25/09/2020), 
  • Reginald Oswald da Silva (10/10/1957 – 06/11/2020),
  • Raymond Clyde Lionell Avontuur (19/01/1948 – 13/12/2020),
  • Desmond Walter Malgas (17/09/1943 – 20/12/2020),
  • Leon Louwrens Jacobs (04/06/1964 – 13/01/2021),
  • Sam Henry John Bruiners (22/09/1970 – 18-01-2021),
  • Oliver Brian Adams (30/08/1966 – 22/01/2021), and
  • André Simon Bosch (11/5/1952 – 07/04/2021)

Three employees, Albertus Kennedy (the CEO), Pieter Stuurman (the clubs and facilities coordinator), and Zenobia Nel (the Human Resource Administrator) who have fifteen years of continuous service received a Continuous Service Silver Certificate.

Various former players and administrators who served SWD Cricket with distinction received a Lifetime Achievement Award.  They were Greg Morkel, Pieter Botha,Griffith Makok, Tommy Meintjies, Ronnie Isaacs, Les Jacobs, Willie Bezuidenhout, Ezzard Hufkie

Clive De Waal, Mervin Davids, Morgan van Wyk, Colin van Wyk, Mario Prins, Colin Myburgh,  Ronald Fortuin, Mario Prins, Danny Cronje, Pieter Oelf, Stan Coleman, Iodien January, Robert Swigelaar, Franco Coerecius, Clive Brandt, Roy Smith, Chris Andries, Godfrey Malgas, Kearney Malgas, Winston Coerecius, Phillip Wagenaar, Anthony Coerecius, Emil le Roux, Patrick Witbooi, Jimmy Ellman, Eric Walbrugh, Neil Jeffery, Basil Deal, Werner Jeffery, Hilton Abrahams, Alfred du Plessis, Joey Daniels and Manie Olivier.

Jean Du Plessis of Cape Cobras during the Momentum One Day Cup cricket match between Cape Cobras and Lions on the 22 January 2020 at Senwes Park, Potchefstroom Pic Sydney Mahlangu/BackpagePix

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →