Six Gun Grill SWD announces squad for 2022/23 season

South Western Districts Cricket, on Monday, revealed the final squad for the 2022/23 season.  Six Gun Grill SWD enjoyed a relatively successful season by being the runners-up CSA 4-day competition and finishing third in the CSA 1-day competition.

Herschell America of Six Gun Grill South Western District celebrates getting Theunis de Bruyn of the Momentum Multiply Titans wicket during the 2021/22 CSA Provincial T20 Cup quarter-final match between the Six Gun Grill South Western District and Momentum Multiply Titans held at the Diamond Oval in Kimberley on 19 October 2021 ©Shaun Roy/BackpagePix

SWD are placed third on the composite log and are still in the run to challenge for promotion to Division 1.

Jarred Jardine of Gauteng during day 5 of the Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Cricket Week match between Western Province and Gauteng at Newlands on December 20, 2018 in Cape Town, South Africa. (Photo by Ashley Vlotman/Gallo Images)

Renaldo Meyer will be playing Division 1 next season for the North West Dragons and he was replaced by one of the heroes in the T20 competition, Herschel America. Opening batsman, Yaseen Vallie has retired from cricket to take up a job opportunity in the UK. Matthew Christensen, a former SA U/19 and Warriors opening batsman who played for Western Province in the CSA Colts competition the past season will now move to Oudtshoorn.

Keenen Viera of SWD Colts during day 2 of the CSA 3 Day Program, B Section match between Western Province and South Western Districts at Six Gun Grill Newlands on March 18, 2022 in Cape Town, South Africa. (Photo by Ashley Vlotman/Gallo Images)

“We have confidence with the squad assembled for the forthcoming season”, said SWD CEO Albertus Kennedy. “We trust to improve on key areas that required strengthening to reach our objectives,” Kennedy commented.  Kennedy also confirmed that the prolific runs scorer of the past season, Leus du Plooy who currently plays for Derbyshire, will not be available for SWD next season.  “Leus has been great for us the past summer and although his departure leaves a massive void it also provides opportunity for other batsmen to make the step-up”.

Matthew Christensen of EP during the 2015 Africa T-20 Cup match between Eastern Province v KwaZulu-Natal at Diamond Oval on September 19, 2015 in Kimberley, South Africa. (Photo by Carl Fourie/Gallo Images)

There are four high performance contracts that have been allocated to Pheko Moletsane, Keenan Vieira, Tyrece Karelse and Jarred Jardine.  Moletsane has been a regular name in the starting line-up the past season whilst Vieira was the star performer in the Colts competition.  Both Karelse (a local talent) and the left arm seamer, Jarred Jardine (from the Titans), formerly represented the SA U/19’s.

Tyrese Karelse of South Africa bats during the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup Group D match between South Africa and UAE at Mangaung Oval on January 25, 2020 in Bloemfontein, South Africa. (Photo by Jan Kruger-ICC/ICC via Getty Images)


Herschel America, Blade Capell, Matthew Christensen, Jean du Plessis, Hanno Kotze, Sintu Majiza, André Malan, Onke Nyaku, Marcello Piedt, Jhedli van Briesies and Sean Whitehead.


Pheko Moletsane, Keenan Vieira, Tyrece Karelse and Jarred Jardine.

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →