Hartenbos claims Promotional Division 2 title

After defeat in last season’s final Hartenbos Cricket Club on Saturday claimed the Six Gun Grill SWD Division 2 title after a comprehensive 144 runs victory against Blanco. 

Jaydee Bester (right), the captain of Hartenbos receives the trophy as league winners of the Promotion Division 1 title from Albertus Kennedy, the CEO of SWD Cricket

Captain and all-rounder, Jaydee Bester, was the hero for Hartenbos.  He excelled with the bat (38 from 45 balls; 2×6, 4×4) and thereafter took 3/18 in 10 overs (with 5 maidens).

In the final that was played at the Six Gun Grill Recreation Ground in Oudtshoorn Hartenbos won the toss and batted first.  They posted 228/9 in their allotted 50 overs thanks to contributions by Nelis van der Linde (47), Bester (38), and Roann Bekker (32).  For Blanco Logan Stoffels bagged 3/47.

Blanco struggled against a match-winning bowling spell by Bester (3/18 in 10 overs) and Dawie Dyason (4/28 in 6 overs) as they were dismissed in the 24th over for only 84.  Hartenbos will next season be promoted to Division 1 at the expense of Mayflower who will be relegated.

The summarised scorecard is:

Promotion League Division 2 final:  Hartenbos vs Blanco

HARTENBOS 228/9 – 50 overs (Jaydee Bester 38, Nelis van der Linde 47, Roann Bekker 32, Logan Stoffels 3/47) 

BLANCO 84 (Hentzwill Pedro 26, Jaydee Bester 3/18, Dawie Dyason)

Hartenbos won by 144 runs 

Caption: The team of Hartenbos who won the SWD Promotion Division 2 title on Saturday is:
Back Row:  André Kruger, Danie van Langelaar, Nelis van der Linde, Micele Febbraio, Durandt Lucas, Warren Woolley, Dawie Dyason and Malcolm Hayman (Club Chairman)
Front Row:  Marius Eybers, Darryn Fry, Alexander Eybers, Jaydee Bester (captain) and Roan Bekker

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →