Five from Badgers in CSA National Academy

JOHANNESBURG: Cricket South Africa (CSA) has named the Men and Women’s National Academy squads for the 2023 intake.

The National Academy is run annually and forms an important part of the CSA High-Performance pipeline as it prepares players for professional cricket at the highest level. Players are selected in line with stringent performance criteria, including performing provincial players and previous graduates of the SA Under-19.

The Men’s programme will run from 01 May to the end of July 2023 whilst the Women’s programme will run from 01 June to the end of July 2023 at CSA Centre of Excellence (COE). In addition to the three-month camp, individual intervention coaching, and monitoring visits are conducted at provincial level.

The women’s academy team will be under the guidance of Dinesha Devnarain, which includes SA U19 Women’s graduates and World Cup stars; Oluhle Siyo, Jenna Evans, Ayanda Hlubi, and Refilwe Moncho.

CSA High-Performance Manager, Vincent Barnes, commented on the significance of the programme;

“The CSA National Men and Women’s Academy programmes are an integral part of our cricket development pipeline. It is significantly important in achieving our long-term strategy of not just producing professional players and strengthening the player base but also to produce future Proteas.

Five players from the Six Gun Grill Garden Route Badgers team are included in the Women’s Academy squad.


Andrie Steyn (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Nondumiso Shangase (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Nobulumko Baneti (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Raisibe Ntozakhe (DP World Lions), Jane Winster (Six Gun Grill Garden Route Badgers), Mieke De Ridder (Six Gun Grill Garden Route Badgers), Tebogo Macheke (Fidelity Titans), Miceala Andrews (Six Gun Grill Garden Route Badgers), Annerie Dercksen (Six Gun Grill Garden Route Badgers), Leah Jones (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Oluhle Siyo (DP World Lions), Asakhe Nyovane (Six Gun Grill Garden Route Badgers), Jenna Evans (DP World Lions), Eliz Mari Marx (Fidelity Titans), Ayanda Hlubi (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Refilwe Moncho (DP World Lions).

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →