Union Stars women claim CSA National Club Championships

The SWD Women’s club champions for the past nine (9) seasons, Union Stars from Oudtshoorn, made a massive statement in South African Women’s cricket when they won the Cricket South Africa Twenty 20 National Women’s Club Championship that was concluded in Potchefstroom on Sunday.  The Oudtshoorn-based team were victorious in all their five matches – including strong opposition from the Dolphins and Lions.  Union Stars were the Western Cape representatives in this event.

POTCHEFSTROOM, SOUTH AFRICA – APRIL 16: Tebogo Motlhabane , Union Stars captain Rhodes with Ntambi Ravele during the match between Union Stars and Wanderers on day 3 of the CSA Women’s National T20 Championships at JB Marks on April 16, 2023 in Potchefstroom, South Africa. (Photo by Lefty Shivambu/Gallo Images)

Although the success of the champions was due to a clinical team effort individual performance by the Garden Route Badgers provincial players like Mieke de Ridder and Askahe Nyovane (with the bat), Jané Winster and Marnazelle Rabie (with the ball) and a brilliant all-round performance by Miceala Andrews were vital in their successful campaign.

POTCHEFSTROOM, SOUTH AFRICA – APRIL 16: Union Stars players celebrate with Ntambi Ravele during the match betweenUnion Stars and Wanderers on day 3 of the CSA Women’s National T20 Championships at JB Marks on April 16, 2023 in Potchefstroom, South Africa. (Photo by Lefty Shivambu/Gallo Images)

An elated club chairperson of Union Stars, Advocate Michelle Weyers, praised the commitment and hard work of the players where they in spite of their socio-economic challenges raised to bar the achieve success and made history”.  “The role of the team manager Katrisha Strydom, Jané Winster (player/coach) and the captain Haroline Rhodes was highlighted together with the character of the players that has made the Western Cape, the Garden Route Badgers and Oudtshoorn very proud on this landmark achievement”, she concluded.

In his response the President of SWD Cricket, Mr Rudy Claassen, has congratulated the victorious team of Union Stars.  “The development and elevation of Women’s cricket on all levels is for many years a strategic objective of SWD Cricket and it was this was advocated by the Board of Directors”, he said.  He also paid tribute to the leadership of the club for their success and commended the role of the club chairperson, Adv Michelle Weyers.

The summarised score cards are:

vs Lindelani CC (KwaZulu Natal)

UNION STARS 154/4 – 20 overs (Mieke de Ridder 71*, Miceala Andrews 29, Haroline Rhodes 26)

LINDELANI 148 all out – 19.3 overs (Jané Winster 2/25, Haroline Rhodes 2/29, Marnazelle Rabie 2/41)

Union Stars won by 6 runs

vs Wanderers CC (Lions)

WANDERERS 142/2 – 20 overs (Marnazelle Rabie 1/23)

UNION STARS 144/4 – 19.2 overs (Miceala Andrews 45, Mieke de Ridder 26, Haroline Rhodes 21) 

Union Stars won by 6 wickets

vs Jendamark United CC (Eastern Province)

JENDAMARK UNITED 89/8 – 20 overs (Miceala Andrews 3/12, Marnazelle Rabie 2/19)

UNION STARS 92/2 – 11.4 overs (Mieke de Ridder 44*, Miceala Andrews 27)

Union Stars won by 8 wickets

vs Avion Cricket Club (Easterns)

AVION 163/2 – 20 overs (Asakhe Nyovane 1/19)

UNION STARS 167/1 – 17.2 overs (Miceala Andrews 88, Asakhe Nyovane 57)

Union Stars won by 9 wickets

vs Kalahari Eye Warriors (Northern Cape)

KALAHARI EYE WARRIORS 91 all out – 19.2 overs (Marnazelle Rabie 2/20, Faith de Jonck 2/23, Jané Winster 3/13)

UNION STARS 92/0 – 10.4 overs (Miceala Andrews 33*, Ashake Nyovane 45*)

Union Stars won by 10 wickets.

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →